Movies Need Supported Not Awarded

Print

(Image Credit FreeDesignFile.com)

According to my trustworthy daily Peanuts desk calendar January 19th is National Popcorn Day. That’s appropriate for this post for a couple reasons. One, popcorn’s association with movie going is well-known and two, everyone has their individual preference as to how much butter and seasoning is required to satisfy their personal taste.

So you may have heard this year’s Academy Award nominations are out. Some are not happy with them. Well, that’s every year…but this year is a little more intense with talk of a boycott due to a lack of diversity among the top contenders.

I don’t know about you but while I watch the film Award shows – including the Oscars – I don’t put stock in any of them. That is to say I don’t feel we should single out such subjective works as worthy or not, better than others or not, etc.

I would much prefer, like paintings in a museum, we wander in and out of the cinema and just enjoy or not enjoy what we saw. It’s good to hear other’s opinions of movies after we’ve seen them because we may learn something we didn’t see or some theory about a film we didn’t consider. But even reviews after our views need to be cautiously considered because to me…movies remain very personal experiences…and even a seasoned film critic trying to be objective can’t help but bring “life” into their opinions. The reactions we all have about movies can’t help but be intertwined with our prior, unique experiences.

This stretches back to my college days where I took courses on Film Criticism. That’s where my painting analogy originated. Films are art that get “one shot” with me…just like a painting would.

Can you imagine what I think of all these alternate endings they stick on films when releasing them after their days on the big screen have come to an end? A travesty.

Coloring black and white films? An abomination.

Movies certainly don’t need to be benchmarked against each other. Film making (and TV too for that matter) should not be reduced to these pseudo-competitions.

This protest stuff is nothing new for the Academy. You know, if you insist on having these Award things in the first place at least be inclusive. Maybe that diversity issue is never going to change when it comes to the Oscars…whose voting block is 94% white and 77% male.

They did hire Chris Rock to host the ceremonies.

I believe this nonsense helps make my point. If we didn’t insist on having these faux competitions in the first place we wouldn’t have these types of faux pas situations.

My wife and I met while both working at a movie theater. We’ve never lost our love for film and try when possible to see movies the way they are crafted to be seen…in a movie theater. We calculated we were fortunate enough to see forty-seven films on the big screen in 2015.

I hesitate to say which movies I enjoyed the most or liked the least because I really don’t get any of these “Best Of” or “Top Ten” lists or rewards when it comes to film making. I am a true purist who believes each film should stand on its own merit and people should either love ‘em or not.

Everyone has their own taste towards what makes a great movie (as well as great popcorn).

I enjoy dishing about movies. I respect other people’s opinions and most often learn from ones that differ from my own take. Discuss this year’s films in the comments if you like. Ones you liked, ones not so much. It’s always interesting to me to hear others’ tastes towards film.

Do take in all the Award shows, even the Oscars, for they ultimately celebrate the art of film making and that’s a good thing…but my opinion is to not take seriously the nominations or the winners. But do see the movies you want to see regardless of what anyone else “rates” them.

Movies are a truly subjective experience and I don’t believe we need to rank, rate or reward them.

Just enjoy them…along with some popcorn if you like.

Made to your own taste of course…

About sportsattitudes

I'm Bruce. Born, raised and still outside the City of Brotherly Love. Managed (so far) to visit a dozen of our United States and Canada (twice). Addicted from birth to Television/Movies/Sports. Took three years of French and got credit for two of 'em.
This entry was posted in Cinema, Culture, Entertainment, Film, Life, Media, Movies, News, Opinion and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Movies Need Supported Not Awarded

  1. OneDizzyBee says:

    I don’t really give much attention to the awards, though I do enjoy the awards shows for their entertainment value. Given the makeup of the voting block, it reminds me of one of my favorite quotes, “History is written by the winners.” So it seems that way with awards nominees in some respects. Also agree with you on a few other issues… stop with the alternate endings already and just tell me the story you wanted to tell, and don’t wreck the old greats by tossing in color where color doesn’t belong!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. spearfruit says:

    Well said (or written) Bruce, I very much totally agree. I no longer watch any of the award shows, because it no longer about the art, it is about fashion and anything else other than the art of film making. Appreciate your opinion on this subject

    Liked by 1 person

  3. George says:

    Well said. You’re absolutely right, why should we listen to or be swayed by what others think of a movie or performance. These awards are just a way for Hollywood to pat itself on the back with all the entertainment politics that goes along with it. It’s a show, and many times not a very good one. I’ve liked movies others thought were terrible and couldn’t sit through some that critics thought were classics. The eye of the beholder…movies are just another form of art and entertainment. Let’s not make it more than it is.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you George. Your comment is spot-on with how I’ve felt seeing some of these “highly-acclaimed” films over the years and openly wondering afterwards how I’m going to try and get my money back. Everyone has their own idea of entertainment and who are we to judge one movie is better than the other. Truly, to each his or her own. See what you want and set your own standards for what makes a great film.

      Like

  4. I like to hear what friends have to say and then I still keep an open mind. Awards don’t mean much to me either!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. J-Dub says:

    I agree with everything you’ve said, but I can’t help but notice some serious hilarity in this “lack of diversity” crap.

    1) There’s almost nothing funnier than when liberals attack each other. Don’t forget we’re talking about a Hollywood community that went all in on that “Black Lives Matter” nonsense and embraces gold medal winners who become glorified drag queens. All of sudden, I’m supposed to believe that Hollywood is now run by the Klan? Puh-leeeze.

    2) Let’s talk “diversity” for a minute. As a black guy, I cringe when I hear people spouting that term. Want to know why? Whenever I hear somebody say it, it ‘s obvious they mean “we need more black people.” So, why doesn’t “diversity” include Hispanics, Asians, or American Indians? Because those groups don’t evoke “white guilt.”

    3) Anybody else notice the “butthurt” in this Academy flap? Look at the two main people behind it. Is anybody surprised that Spike Lee might be interested in anything that allows him to keep beating the “hate Whitey” drum? Spike Lee is irrelevant today because mainstream America (which is 65-70% white by the way) got tired of heading down to the local Cine-plex and shelling out 10 bucks to get called a “racist.”

    Then, there’s Jada Pinkett-Smith, who is on this kick because her husband didn’t get nominated for his role in “Concussion.” Jada, there’s a reason why he didn’t get nominated: that movie sucked and his performance was laughable. It was obvious with the timing of it’s release and the advertising budget behind it that “Concussion” was intended to net Will Smith an Academy Award nomination, but it didn’t happen. It didn’t happen because Smith screwed up that entire production with his clownish attempt at an African accent. Remember the 80’s wrestler Kamala , the Ugandan Giant? That’s EXACTLY what he sounded like, and there’s no way a character will be taken seriously when the entire audience is waiting for him to paint stars on his nipples and rip the head off a chicken.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Saw this comment about Charlotte Rampling and Michael Caine saying all this “lack of diversity talk” was actually being racist to whites…”Charlotte Rampling and Michael Caine think they’re Oscar-nominated owing purely to the merit of their work. How clear it all seems from there.” Indeed, you now have animosity within Hollywood and eventually somebody shows their color cards. I liked “Concussion” because it wasn’t a “football movie” and dealt with someone knowing the truth but swimming upstream with it. But that’s exactly the point…movies are so subjective. Stepping away from the race discussion, these awards have always been about who likes who, making it up to someone for prior snubs, career honorees, etc. I’ve never taken their “nominations” seriously.

      Like

Your Thoughts?

