Death? I’ve Got Options

For whatever reasons a couple of days ago…after all the years living where I do…I noticed there are three funeral homes all within but six miles of my residence.

Heck…two of them are directly across the street from each other.

Perhaps it came to mind because two of the three were concluding services at the same time and trying to assist traffic out onto the main street.

Perhaps it came to mind because it was a miserable weather day…making sending the dearly departed off in style a bit more challenging.

Perhaps it came to mind because I remembered I’m dying.

We all are you know.  Whether we’re judged to be 100% healthy or not.

A day lived…is a day closer to all our end of days.

Now that may sound like I’m a glass half-empty guy but I’d like to think quite the opposite. For if we all truly embrace no day is guaranteed and it is up to us to fill it up…then I become a glass half-full guy…don’t I?

The point is we all have an unknown yet finite time in this world. We should strive to make the most of it.

“The greatest possession you have is the twenty-four hours directly in front of you.”

And it is comforting to know when my glass finally reads “E” I’ve got options.

At least three.

About sportsattitudes

I'm Bruce. Born, raised and still outside the City of Brotherly Love. Managed (so far) to visit a dozen of our United States and Canada (twice). Addicted from birth to Television/Movies/Sports. Took three years of French and got credit for two of 'em.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Death, Family, Health, Home, Life, Personal, Spirituality, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Death? I’ve Got Options

  1. Love the title Bruce and while many of us don’t like to think, let alone talk about it “A day lived…is a day closer to all our end of days” is true and a poignant reminder that we need to make the most of the time we have right now.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Quirky Girl says:

    After reading this, I’ve decided I’d rather have a fire station for a neighbor than a handful of funeral homes. Yikes!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good way to look at it, always live in the present! Three funeral homes near each other seems a bit excessive though . . .is there something daunting about where you live? Hmmmm? *raised eyebrow*

    Sorry, off topic, but how did you get your share buttons at the end of your posts? I just did my redesign, and selected all of that in my dashboard and they’re not showing up.

    Like

    • Well, Pennsylvania IS an “older” state. There are a lot more folks more likely to…let’s say…sooner require the services of a funeral home…just sent you some “help” on your site.

      Like

Your Thoughts?

