Restaurant Seating…No Butts About It

I refuse to believe I am alone in my disappointment over the varied seating “accommodations” provided in some of our nation’s restaurants.  Sometimes, this disappointment converts to discomfort and eventually can become a true pain…in the…butt.

While I understand the money-making method of turning tables over and getting as many people in and out on a daily basis as possible, some of the seating at these places are nothing more than glorified, varnished bleachers…flatter than one of their beers sitting out for a couple of hours.  We’re all essentially asked to sit on a surface where your backside wouldn’t notice any difference between it and sitting on the establishment’s parking lot.

It is my opinion this does not encourage repeat patronage, especially for those of us who are seat-sensitive.  I have to add a disclaimer my cervical make-up does not lend itself well to these types of circumstances.  After a half-hour or so sitting on the equivalent of their floors, my spine begins to sends a fairly significant signal to my rear end and lower extremities to not enjoy myself from that point forward.  I know I can’t be alone in my disdain for these folks expecting all of us to sit on painted planks for any length of time.  I have seen people in much better shape than I struggle to regain the circulation in their legs when removing themselves from these faulty flatlands.  You can tell they are numb not from their beverage of choice, but from the way their body was brutally mistreated…while seated.

I’m not asking we all should be provided with recliners, sofas or love seats.  I just think it reasonable to show a little love for our physical well-being in a situation where we plant ourselves for a reasonable amount of time…and not be treated like plants.  A little cushioning.  A little padding.  Something.

Don’t restaurant operators want us to come on in and sit awhile…in comfort…which might actually get us to stay longer and consume more?

Or, is the bare-bottom truth while they want our initial business, they don’t want us to get too comfortable and wear out our welcome…which is why they wear us out.  I suppose those who start firing down shots of spirits or yards of ale anesthetize themselves from everything I outline here and have no idea what I am talking about.

But for those of us who aren’t altered by anything other than an unsweetened iced tea with artificial sweetener, the seating arrangements at a lot of dining establishments leave a lot to be desired…leaving nothing comfy for us to sit on.

When it comes to comfort at these places they are bringing up…the rear.

About sportsattitudes

I'm Bruce. Born, raised and still outside the City of Brotherly Love. Managed (so far) to visit a dozen of our United States and Canada (twice). Addicted from birth to Television/Movies/Sports. Took three years of French and got credit for two of 'em.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Restaurant Seating…No Butts About It

  1. HaLin says:

    It was a wise choice to rest awhile on your blog! Enjoyed the read.

    Like

  2. Thank you, HaLin. Enjoyed your stopping by!

    Like

  3. What an interesting observation. Is it possible that some restaurants owners as so concerned with menu and food quality they leave furniture choices to the “expert” decorators?…stylish atmosphere chosen over comfort ( they are the experts. after all…)….but those chain places – it’s all about get them in and get them out…especially on any “tourist routes”. Nice read (Oh those puffy down coats are good for something…..)

    Like

  4. I couldn’t agree with you more. Gotta remember form AND function.

    Like

  5. When I was the President of the Gateway Men’s Chorus, we used a marketing scheme called… ‘Butt’s in Seats’ as a way to sell tickets to our concerts. Same should be for a restaurant too!

    Like

  6. Tipsy Lucy says:

    We don’t have too many (any?) restaurants here with plant seating, but I know what you are talking about. I believe I sat on some in Florida. Not comfy at all!

    Like

Your Thoughts?

