Best. Christmas. Gift. Ever.

You likely know the music.

You likely don’t know who composed it.

My wife knows the music, the composer and my love of it …which resulted in the best Christmas gift I have ever received…Christmas Day 2011.

Trammell Starks has produced some of the very finest jazz music I’ve ever enjoyed…and if you’ve ever watched the Weather Channel during its “Local On The 8’s” segments you’ve likely enjoyed it also…without even knowing where it came from.

The music has been “out there” for years now.  Periodically, when I had a few free moments I would try to track down who was responsible for the cool compilations playing in the background while the Channel’s disembodied voice introduced our local forecast info.  I loved one selection in particular, hoping when we checked the weather it would be the one playing.

My wife knew how much I enjoyed Starks’ talent…and this year she did something about it.

She tracked down how to buy Trammell’s “Music For Local Forecast” CD’s via You Tube and presented them to me on Christmas Day.  They came autographed, along with a personal letter thanking her for her interest and advising a new jazz album is in the works.

I was moved to tears by her present.  Life is never, ever easy.  One thing that helps a lot of us keep pushing forward and upward is music that inspires us…moves us…touches us.

Just the fact my wife remembered and knew how much I enjoyed this music…and made the effort to secure for me my very own copies.  What can you say?  Isn’t that what the best Christmas gift’s DNA would be made of?  Something you know the person loves…something remarked upon long ago…something you figured the person would never spend the time and money to get for themselves?

The present…relatively inexpensive.  The impact…positively priceless.

One of the CD’s is playing in the background right now.

I may wear them out.

My wife has set the bar very, very high for future Christmas gifts.  But as she and I both know from being together as long as we have, it really…REALLY…is the thought that counts.

The thought one gives…in the giving.

Best. Christmas. Gift. Ever.

About sportsattitudes

I'm Bruce. Born, raised and still outside the City of Brotherly Love. Managed (so far) to visit a dozen of our United States and Canada (twice). Addicted from birth to Television/Movies/Sports. Took three years of French and got credit for two of 'em.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Faith, Family, Holidays, Home, Life, Marriage, People, Personal, Relationships, Religion, Spirituality, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Best. Christmas. Gift. Ever.

  1. What a great present. Amazing. Definitely will be remembered a long time. Enjoy everything the New Yea brings.

    Like

  2. Phil, the very best to you and yours in the New Year. I’ll probably be listening to some music… 🙂

    Like

  3. I bet this incredibly sincere post expressing your grattitude was a pretty nice gift back to your wife!

    Like

Your Thoughts?

