Emergency Alert System Test…Operators Are Standing By

FEMA, in coordination with the FCC and NOAA, is planning to conduct the first-ever, nationwide Emergency Alert System (EAS) Test on Wednesday, November 9th at 2:00 PM Eastern.  According to their information, the date was selected because it falls between the last days of the hurricane season and before the winter weather normally sets in.  The time of day was selected to minimize disruption during rush hours while also assuring testing during normal business hours across all time zones.

Whatever.  Thank God my cable television programming provider is ready for all this.

Or not.

They sent a note out late last week indicating the test will last approximately three minutes…informing me it will be seen on all local, cable and satellite television stations across the nation…as well as being heard on radio.

This obviously will result in a temporary interruption of my cable television service but, as with lesser high-profile warnings shown in the past, should not interfere at all with the immediate, timely return to my regularly scheduled programming.

Unless it does.

It appears there is the possibility I might have to, a) use my remote to restore service or, b) power down my equipment and restart it.

Unless that doesn’t work.

And/or the EAS Test happens to last longer than five minutes.  (This I believe is code for “doesn’t end”)

It appears there is the possibility I might have to unplug and plug-in the power cord from my equipment to the power outlet in question.

The TV Guide data will be wiped out no matter what.  That’s not a problem since I often find “To Be Announced” is the name of the program I plan on watching any particular time.  However, the whole system getting wiped out appears to be a possibility.

It should be noted the information from FEMA indicates the test is thirty seconds…not three minutes.

Why do I get the feeling sometime Wednesday afternoon there is the possibility I’ll be hearing, “Thank you for your call.  Your call is important to us.”

About sportsattitudes

I'm Bruce. Born, raised and still outside the City of Brotherly Love. Managed (so far) to visit a dozen of our United States and Canada (twice). Addicted from birth to Television/Movies/Sports. Took three years of French and got credit for two of 'em.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Emergency Alert System Test…Operators Are Standing By

  1. Update…my wife and I happened to be in the car when the Test was enacted so we got to hear the radio version. It went very well, thank you. No driving into a tree, the station on the radio quickly returned to regularly scheduled programming, etc. Came home…the cable TV was not affected at all…except future shows still were “To Be Announced” of course…

    Like

Your Thoughts?

