3 Things I Learned During The Commute This Morning

Truth be told…technically it was my wife’s commute.  I was driving her to work today.

Anyone who has read me regularly knows I believe in the “Power Of Three.”  Everything outside my norm always happens in threes, whether it is as simplistic as learning info I didn’t know the day before or experiencing huge, life-altering changes within 24 hours.

This AM’s “Three” is on the simple side.  Simple-minded, I think…

1. My wife travels through a very large, very busy intersection on her way to work.  It serves as an exit ramp off the westbound Route 30 Bypass (named “Bypass” because most who dare venture onto it for repeated commutes over time eventually need the procedure) as well as providing two well-travelled lanes in each direction on Business Route 30 (named “Business” because there were a lot of them on it…at least before the “For Lease” signs started to pop up like dandelions in Spring).  Anyway, as we stopped at the traffic light that regulates the intersection I noticed on the light’s pole there was a “No Pedestrian” sign.  Having seen this major, high-speed, high-volume intersection used as a bus stop in prior commutes (which in itself is mind-numbing since there is no “wait area”…you’re literally left to fend for yourself in waiting for or departing said bus)…I said to my wife, “Did you know there is a “No Pedestrian” sign here?”  She said, “Yes, it has always been there.  I guess people are supposed to fly.”

2. As my wife was getting out of the car to head into work, I noticed inside one of the darkened offices visible from the parking lot (some folks have work spaces with a view out…but that also means a view in) there was a red, flashing, strobe-like light in a corner near where the occupant would normally be sitting.  I asked my wife, “What is that light?” She replied, “It’s an energy-efficiency project they started with motion detectors throughout the building that turns off lights after time if no one is in the area.” She then said, “I’m not sure they took into consideration what happens when someone falls asleep at their desk in the offices.”

3. Before pulling out of the parking lot to head to my next destination, I checked my email.  There was one with the subject line, “The future is uncertain.” It was a solicitation from a term-life insurance company.  The implication was I should get term-life insurance because I can’t predict the future.  We see that kind of advertising all the time from these folks…fear of the unknown.  But then I thought about those dandelion-rate “For Lease” signs on “Business” Route 30 and said to myself, “Self, since the future IS uncertain how can I be certain these folks will even be around to cash in…or out..when the time comes…or not?”  Nonetheless, I will dutifully pass on this term-life info to anyone I see standing in that intersection next time by.

About sportsattitudes

I'm Bruce. Born, raised and still outside the City of Brotherly Love. Managed (so far) to visit a dozen of our United States and Canada (twice). Addicted from birth to Television/Movies/Sports. Took three years of French and got credit for two of 'em.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 3 Things I Learned During The Commute This Morning

  1. writerdood says:

    I passed three car accidents on my way to work yesterday, and then I hit the stream of 9 stoplights going down the hill to my office and they ALL turned green just as I got to them. (This happens about three times each year). I KNEW it was going to be a good day. And guess what? Work was great. My wife was grumpy though. Apparently the effect wore off when I got home.

    Like

    • Writerdood, I am certainly not shocked at the fact ALL green lights happens about THREE times a year. Kudos for being able to hit nine lights in a row with that color. Sorry that “magic” didn’t carry through the entire day…but thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. Behold the power of 3’s!

    Like

  3. love the comments / observations about each of the 3 things.

    Like

Your Thoughts?

