Checkout The Cold Reality Of Bagging Groceries

We try to be patient.  We really do.

Trips to the grocery store are usually hectic as it is for my wife and me…everyone pushing carts about trying to not hit each other, “park” in safe locations to review shopping options, coupons, etc.

It shouldn’t be that hard once you finally get to checkout.

But it is.

The youth of America does not understand NOT COLD versus COLD.  And when the youth of America is bagging our groceries, members of each group…our blood collectively runs…cold.

We configure our items on the conveyor belt in such a way you’d think there were neon signs flashing “NOT COLD” and “COLD” alongside them.

All the boxed items carefully staged together.  Spaced away from them…meats, cheeses, eggs, etc.  NOT COLD and COLD.  They can co-exist at checkout as long as you understand NOT COLD and COLD.

COLD items belong together…for starters…to help keep each other COLD.  NOT COLD items belong nowhere near COLD items because they can be compromised.

We’ve corrected rolls of toilet tissue going into the same bag as pints of ice cream.

We’ve corrected boxes of cotton balls going into the same bag as gallons of milk.

See. some of the NOT COLD items can really be rendered meaningless if you don’t have the concept of NOT COLD and COLD in mind when bagging groceries.

My wife has a theory the youth of America cannot be expected to automatically adhere to the rules of NOT COLD versus COLD.  Her view is since they don’t normally participate in the purchase and transport of their own family’s groceries, they could not possibly be expected to grasp the potential damage COLD items can unleash on NOT COLD items.  She feels it reflects a distinct lack of training which is unacceptable in light of the fact their employers should know the youth of America have no frame of reference for this type of assignment.

That may be, but the bottom line is we still find ourselves…even after placing NOT COLD and COLD items so carefully aligned and so far apart the cashier might wonder if we want separate charges for them…the youth of America still wants to merge these two opposing forces.

This gets us hot…but we try to keep our cool…quietly educating one youthful bagger at a time.

About sportsattitudes

I'm Bruce. Born, raised and still outside the City of Brotherly Love. Managed (so far) to visit a dozen of our United States and Canada (twice). Addicted from birth to Television/Movies/Sports. Took three years of French and got credit for two of 'em.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Checkout The Cold Reality Of Bagging Groceries

  1. Don’t worry, this will soon be a non-issue because at the rate self checkout is gaining popularity, you’ll soon be bagging all your groceries yourself!

    Like

  2. Lisa, we used to just clear ’em out and say “thanks but no thanks” but then the youth of America just hung around and cluttered up the staging area. So…we’ve reverted back to allowing them to function…but micro-manage the process. That being said, their days may indeed be numbered anyway.

    Like

  3. I have this same issue!! I mean, if I put all of my groceries on the conveyor belt in a specific fashion, then that’s the way I want them bagged. For the life of me, I can’t understand why young baggers can’t get it right!

    To be honest, I now go to the self-checkout so that I can scan my groceries myself, as quickly as I’d like, and put everything into their proper bags. It’s just so much easier and then I know it’s done right! 🙂

    Once again, terrific post!

    Like

  4. PCC, you truly appreciate the situation at hand here. Cocoa puffs should travel at room temperature. If I want cold milk with them I’d like to wait until they’re in a bowl and I have a spoon…not together in the same travel bag headed home.

    Like

  5. Tipsy Lucy says:

    Yes, exactly, we experience the same problem here. Another annoying habit is bottle of wine placed directly against another glass object, say a jar of sauce. It’s an accident waiting to happen.

    Like

  6. Haha! 🙂 Over here in Canada we have to bag our own groceries – at least in the grocery stores my husband and I shop at so we don’t have this problem. ……….I usually pack our groceries and my husband pays because I make that distinction between hot, cold, hard and soft when I put items in a bag. My husband doesn’t; it’s all the same to him. (Chicken can go on top of bananas!!)

    If, by chance my husband gets to the bagging section before me, then I try to separate and stack the items that go together on the conveyor belt, so by the time it gets to him, it’s already organized! 🙂

    Like

    • So…your challenge is your own husband when it comes to NOT COLD and COLD. Well then, I consider myself lucky indeed my wife and I are on the same page and can present a united two-person front against those that would dare conspire to put “chicken on top of bananas!”).

      Like

  7. Why? Why? Is this so hard? And every time we get one trained, they decide groceries is not a career and move on to college. The baggers get nervous if you try to help – jobs are scarce and they don’t want to boss to notice the customers working.. Are they so nervous they cant pay attention? Seriously, ice cream carton tossed on top of nice soft fresh bread? Funny post. Thanks

    Like

    • Philosopher, thanks for stopping by here! Indeed, once we get someone who has a clue…they get a clue to move on and the process begins anew trying to train a newbie the difference between NOT COLD and COLD.

      Like

Your Thoughts?

