Contagion To Cultivate Generations Of Germaphobes?

“Nothing spreads like fear.”

I saw the ads for the new movie “Contagion” and thought to myself…oh, another “original” idea from Hollywood.  Plague kills many.  World in crisis.  Must stop plague before end of World.

Been there and done that, Tinseltown.  Thanks anyway.  Moved on.

Then, I read this.

After reading the USA Today article discussing the making of “Contagion” it was clear many on the set either developed or increased concern with regard to cleanliness.  Poor Marion Cotillard came across in the column as if she would be the perfect choice for a reboot of “Monk” with a female lead…and she won’t have to act as if she has OCD because it sounds to me like being in this movie sent her from careful to captive when it comes to germ warfare.

This is no laughing matter.  We have enough trouble in the world these days without everyone spraying each other in the face with hand sanitizer.  Creating a new generation of OCD sufferers won’t make us a kinder, gentler nation.  It is a crippling disease to live in fear of obtaining disease.

And whose genius idea was to release this thing on 9/11 weekend anyway?  Rumor has it Warner Brothers was scheduled to release this closer to Halloween than September 11th.  If you HAVE to make ANOTHER movie like THIS that sounds like a logical date.  My guess is one of the movie execs in La-La Land lifted their head off their cocaine-covered desk, looked at a nearby calendar…and came to the conclusion since the nation would be collectively thinking about the next potential threat to our country they’d go ahead and roll out a pandemic scenario in the wake of the worst disaster in our nation’s history.

Steven Soderbergh, the film’s director, was quoted as saying, “Contagion” could do to elevator buttons what “Jaws” did to the beach.” 

Maybe I’m taking this all too seriously.  It just seems to me the combination of a high-profile cast (Matt Damon, Kate Winslet, Jude Law) all cashing paychecks in on a well-worn plot device…with the director openly hoping people become excessively paranoid about contracting germs…considering the sensitivity of the very weekend it opens.

I’m ready to wash my hands of “Contagion” before it even opens.

About sportsattitudes

I'm Bruce. Born, raised and still outside the City of Brotherly Love. Managed (so far) to visit a dozen of our United States and Canada (twice). Addicted from birth to Television/Movies/Sports. Took three years of French and got credit for two of 'em.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Contagion To Cultivate Generations Of Germaphobes?

  1. pd1248 says:

    Wow, I had little interest in this movie before. Now I have even less. Few reviewers are concerned with marketing. Thanks for putting the choice of release date into context. Even if I were on cocaine, I would still see it as a dumb idea to release this film on the 9/11 weekend.

    Like

  2. I agree, PD. Perhaps it will be the most-watched movie of the weekend and would have been no matter when it was released. I was ignoring it as well…until I read the article and comments within. Strange wish for all of us to be more paranoid…the timing, etc. Many will say it’s” just a movie.” OK. Then “just” release it and not gloat over viewers possibly having issues from seeing “just a movie.”

    Like

  3. I am one of those people who is somewhat fearful of germs…not in a crazy “I’ve-gotta-wash-my-hands-18-times-after-touching-a-doorknob” kind of way, but I the kind that always has a bottle of hand sanitizer at her desk or in her bag. If I see this movie, I’m pretty sure that it will give me epic nightmares…haha.

    Also, I’m pretty sure that Contagion was released a few years ago; it was called Outbreak.

    One has famous, beautiful people in it and the other has monkeys. There is no originality left in Hollywood…

    Like

  4. PCC, I admit to having Purell in my world. I think you and I share usage likelihoods. Loved the comments about “Outbreak” and Hollywood. So true…

    Like

  5. Pingback: In The Bathroom…May The Odds Be Ever In Your Favor « lifeattitudes

  6. Pingback: When Sneeze Gets In Your Eye « lifeattitudes

  7. Pingback: When Sneeze Gets In Your Eye | lifeattitudes

Your Thoughts?

