Networking With Pepper

Yesterday, I went to a networking lunch with a former colleague at what can be described as a fine dining establishment.

Having made an appointment to have my teeth cleaned late in the day, I showed great concern for my dental hygienist and refrained from ordering the house specialty, the garlic french fries.

Instead, I opted to go with what they called salt and pepper fries.  I had never had french fries of that description before and they sounded intriguing.  After confirming there was no garlic involved…just salt and pepper…I ordered them as a side dish for my burger.

The lunch turned out to be quite enjoyable and it was great to catch up with my buddy.  We shared insight as to our current and future plans for work.

It was a productive meeting and I had a pep in my step as I entered my car to depart the restaurant…only to look in my rear view mirror and see a giant piece of pepper wedged smack dab in the middle of my smile…a smile I later found included several other pieces of pepper.

I looked like a flippin’ jack o’lantern.  It was good the windows were up…as the salty language was flying.

When I got back to my office I fired off an email to my friend, asking him how in the world he could let me have sat there looking like that.  I am confident I made a lasting impression on the wait staff and the hostess as well.

I saw the pepper pieces on the fries but assumed they were all going to their assigned area, the stomach.  I was wrong.  Perhaps I underestimated the size of the pepper pieces.  Upon further reflection in that mirror, they loomed large.

Whatever happened to common decency where someone points out to you there is something making you…and I would think by association them…look ridiculous?

Perhaps “Miss Manners” or “Dear Abby” can assist…what is the proper protocol when the person across from you has something stuck in their smile?  Do you have to be a blood relative to point it out?

Experience seasons us.  Fry seasoning needs to be carefully planned.

I can only image the look on the hygienist face if I had saved my peppery smile for her.

About sportsattitudes

I'm Bruce. Born, raised and still outside the City of Brotherly Love. Managed (so far) to visit a dozen of our United States and Canada (twice). Addicted from birth to Television/Movies/Sports. Took three years of French and got credit for two of 'em.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Networking With Pepper

  1. Maybe next time you visit the hygienist you should snag her dental mirror to carry with you on lunch dates 🙂

    Like

  2. I had an offline suggestion to use the spoon as a reflection while actually eating, but trying to peer into silverware might come off just as weird as having the food in the smile in the first place.

    Like

  3. Tipsy Lucy says:

    Next time you eat your pepper fries, you’ll know to ask if you have anything stuck in your teeth! Tres embarrassing.

    Like

  4. munteng says:

    pepper is the new spinach? haha

    Like

  5. Munteng, indeed spinach came to mind as I gazed into the rear view mirror of the car. Those pepper pieces were truly that large. Thanks for stopping by!

    Like

  6. Lowdogg says:

    MMM. French fries.

    Like

  7. Lowdogg, those fries WERE very tasty…probably the pepper helped…

    Like

Your Thoughts?

