Bugs Me To Eat

Last weekend here in Philadelphia, the Academy of Natural Sciences celebrated their fourth annual Bug Fest.  The theme of the Fest this year was “Beetlemania” (and if you click on that link to Bug Fest don’t be surprised if you see some scamper across your monitor…you have been warned).

In any event, seeing live beetles is not something I live for.  I certainly don’t engage in eating them.  Therefore, I was not a likely candidate to attend the festivities as outlined.

Our local newspaper devoted a two page spread in their “Weekend” section promoting Bug Fest, even printing some original insect drawings and paintings from a separate, long-term exhibit running in parallel to the event.

What caught my eye in the newspaper article, aside from seeing a sampling of reproductions of things I would destroy with all my might…on sight…was an advertisement for a local restaurant.

I am certain the business owners of said restaurant were not made aware their foodie ad would be pictured directly alongside creepy crawlers.

Ironically, it is a place my wife and I go to on occasion.  I’m sure we will again soon, but I’m betting it takes awhile for me to get the unfortunate visual association out of my head.

I wonder if anyone else was bugged?

About sportsattitudes

I'm Bruce. Born, raised and still outside the City of Brotherly Love. Managed (so far) to visit a dozen of our United States and Canada (twice). Addicted from birth to Television/Movies/Sports. Took three years of French and got credit for two of 'em.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Your Thoughts?

