Four-Way No Way For Highway

I come before you today to plead my case for outlawing all four-way stop intersections in America.

I can’t speak for the rest of Mother Earth but having driven over a good part of the U.S. I feel we can agree on the fact our citizens are completely unable to process the requirements of successfully navigating the Mother of all driving dilemmas, four-way stop intersections.

All my wife and I were trying to do yesterday was get home with our beloved Chinese food.  We were not in a particular rush as our local establishment manages to pack out our order at a temperature equivalent to the surface of the sun…which is fine because we do like the food hot…and it does re-enter the atmosphere of safe eating by the time we get it home.

Yet, there are these multiple four-way stop intersections without lights in our community…lots of them.  Why this is I don’t know.  Some sadist in charge of “transportation planning.”  You’ve surely seen many fine examples of what happens when road engineers get approval for a project they claim needs to be executed.  Drivers usually wish to be executed shortly after these people get their paws on our highways.

On the way home last night as we were carefully negotiating and navigating our way across a couple of these four-way stops, I actually said to my wife how people just seemed incapable of knowing who was next to go, who had the right of way, etc.  I usually have my guard up as we traverse this minefield of madness.  Little did I know I was foreshadowing one of my all-time incidents at one of these heinous highway requirements.

As I approached the final four-way stop of the evening I encountered but one car out of the possible three.  Sweet.  I felt comfortable my wife and our flaming food would conquer this last hurdle and allow us to have a relaxing dining experience in the comfort of our own home…just a 1/4 mile away at this point.

However, while I clearly was the first of the two cars to arrive at my stop sign, the driver of the other vehicle pulled up…stopped briefly…and then rolled into the intersection.

It was MY turn.  Instant replay would have confirmed it.  I was already at my stop sign and was only waiting for that other car to come to a stop.  It was MY turn.  I was headed straight and so was the other car…but they continued on while I remained parked.

Having been violated for the umpteenth time at this particular locale, I rolled out into the intersection as well.  I mean, if you don’t at least try to train these people what hope do we have?  The other car stopped.  Success.  At this point, I felt they had learned their lesson well and I proceeded forward once more…but alas, they did also.  It was like a small child was toying with me – I hadn’t even bothered to see who was piloting the opposition vehicle…yet.

Both cars are now practically parked in the middle of the intersection.

The first obscene gesture was made by the driver of the other car.  I point that out with a sense of great pride, because what I did immediately thereafter will not go down as one of my finest moments.  My wife will verify this.

I returned said foul hand gesture with one of my own.  I then locked eyes with my intersectional enemy (a woman who looked to be about our age with a CELL PHONE attached to her head) and rattled off a stream of obscenities clearly audible regardless of the windows being up and the A/C on.  Regardless of the decibel count, you did not have to be a lip reader to get the context of my speech.

Having completed both the requisite opening hand gesture and follow-up remarks, I then took the lead and sped off, clearing the intersection first.

And then, flush with adrenaline and filled with the sense of victory…the honk of a horn in the distance.

Having vanquished that other driver, I guess it was her way of trying to win the war even if her battle was lost.  I was about to take the high road on this one…but I…just…couldn’t.

I honked back.

Needless to say, the early discussion during the consumption of the now-cooled Chinese food was how I needed to be cooler at these intersections.  Take it in stride, don’t get so upset.  This from a woman who has come home from many a drive out with the same exact stories of frustration and fury…well, ok…without the gestures and cursing.

I’m not a road rage fellow at all.  I wave people along all the time.  I take pride in not posting pedestrians on my hood.  I’m a good guy at the wheel.

However, I have come to the conclusion we all need to see the light…and install a light…at each and every four-way stop.

With these lights…maybe then I’ll lighten up.

About sportsattitudes

I'm Bruce. Born, raised and still outside the City of Brotherly Love. Managed (so far) to visit a dozen of our United States and Canada (twice). Addicted from birth to Television/Movies/Sports. Took three years of French and got credit for two of 'em.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

180 Responses to Four-Way No Way For Highway

  1. I agree with you, 4-way stops are quite frustrating and always prove to me that there are plenty of idiots out there on the road…

    The one saving grace of a 4-way stop? I know without a doubt that i will (usually) be the first one going through, just cause i don’t sit there and wait for any of the other idiots to make a decision.

    Come check out my blog after the weekend is over (deadline jitters) I’m working up a good traffic/texting/road rage post that i think you may enjoy. Also, I’m pretty new and don’t have a lot of peeps yet.

    Like

  2. Thanks for stopping by, DJ. I will check out the blog and look forward to the distracted driving post!

    Like

  3. lowdogg says:

    Think 4-way stops are bad? In our municipality, planners believe every problem can be solved with a roundabout.
    I would agree with them, except people seem to have a lesser grasp of roundabout rules than they do of 4-way stops.

    Like

  4. The circles were big in New Jersey years ago but are being phased out. Indeed, an inability to navigate them was the root cause for their removal. Sorry about that, Lowdogg. Condolences.

    Like

  5. Great piece. Yes, driving with a spouse warrants its own driving etiquette. Sometimes we have to “stop in the name of love.”

    Like

  6. Lisa, no fair writing a comment funnier than my post! I LOVE “stop in the name of love.”

    Like

  7. haha great post! 😀 My husband complains about the same thing too–some people don’t know the rules at a 4-way stop!! it drives him crazy!

    Like

    • With Hurricane Irene and the traffic signals being out, ALL our intersections became 4-way stops if you can possibly imagine that horror…thanks for stopping by…and great name by the way…”Things You Realize AFTER You Get Married.”

      Like

  8. I guess you’re lucky to have survived…because some people are just idiots, and it sounds like you found a few!

    And if the four-way stops don’t get you, then the surface-of-the-sun Chinese food might. So perhaps it was divine intervention that you were delayed from eating. Look at it this way: Someone’s watching over you.

    😉

    Like

    • Mikalee, it isn’t pretty around here with these voluntary rules. And as for the Chinese food, it never ceases to amaze me how hot it stays after you get it home (normally). You don’t think they fry it…do you? 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  9. westwood says:

    Plus, all the stopping and starting is bad for the engine, air quality, and the environment!

    Like

  10. Great post. We have one four-way stop in our small town, but it usually stays pretty civil, thankfully. If any road rage occurred, it would surely spread like wildfire… We have tons of semis going through, and that’s about the only obstacle a person faces.

    Sorry you had to deal with a rude person. She was probably fighting with someone on the phone and you got caught in the crossfire.

    Like

    • CMW, there is little doubt her phone conversation played a significant role in her happiness with our intersection…at the intersection. I hope for better “meetings” ahead. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  11. Traffic circles are the way to go!

    Like

    • BB Dating, thanks for stopping by! We don’t have circles nearby but they had a bunch of them in neighboring New Jersey back in the day. They had to phase them out because Jerseyites couldn’t navigate them at the speeds they are accustomed to…but better than four way stops in a lot of respects!

      Like

  12. Hahahaha! I can’t believe she was on the phone. No wonder you won! And seriously, even though i’m way way far far away in Pakistan, I feel your pain. Cuz half of the time we don’t get electricty and most of our people feel this way cuz our traffic lights don’t work. And imagine with the road heavily filled 😀

    Like

  13. Christy says:

    I’m not sure which would be better although I see your point. I drive 10 miles to work with 21, no, that was not a typo, 21 stoplights. The lights can be frustrating as well.

    Like

    • Wow, Christy. My wife has a similar type of commute once she gets out on the road…eight miles one way that takes a half-hour. And at that, not everyone “gets” the lights theory either! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  14. rae says:

    I feel your pain! What I hate more is on the highway when two lanes become one, yet no one seems to let you in. It’s called zipper merging, people!

    Like

    • Rae, thanks for stopping by! We just had that “installed” down the road from us…what used to be one lane became two, for the purpose of allowing folks to more easily turn into a shopping area. You then have to re-establish the one lane after you pass it. Yet, even though the same people drive up and back the same route each day they refuse to yield any ground and play nice!

      Like

  15. sportsjim81 says:

    Completely agree with how unnecessary these 4-Way stops are. After the hurricane came through this past weekend, one very large intersection in my town had the lights go out. People were told to treat it as a 4-Way stop until the lights were fixed. You would have thought anarchy had set in. It was bedlam!

    Like

  16. Reggie says:

    This had me in stitches – congratulations on getting Freshly Pressed, and well-deserved indeed.

    Road rage is a big problem in our country, so I’m glad nothing more serious happened in your case.

    Like

  17. Yes yes yes! I completely agree with you! The same thing has happened to me numerous times (minus the hand gestures and swears…haha), and I just sit in the middle of the intersection and blare my horn at the offending vehicle…for about 3 minutes. Straight.

    I find that it helps me get my point across while relieving tensions, at least on my end. 😉

    Stupid four-way-stops always ruining our driving experiences…

    Great post and congratulations on being Freshly Pressed!

    Like

    • PCC, thanks for stopping by! Wow, hitting the horn for 3 minutes. I’d be afraid it would trigger the air bag or something but I will admit…a definite stress-busting technique!

      Like

      • Yeah, I know that it’s a BIT unnecessary to do it for that length of time, but as annoying as it is, after a minute or so, I can’t help but laugh at how ridiculous I’m being. So, all in all, I get my point across without offending the other driver that badly, and I end up laughing by the time it’s over.

        …and then I do it all over again at the next 4-way stop. 😉

        Like

  18. Rick Gleason says:

    Even worse than “the Mother of all driving dilemmas” — your four-way stops — are the roundabouts I navigate from time-to-time. Those circles without stop signs that have replaced many of our intersections. I love ’em personally as they keep the traffic flow moving, but just like those who can’t handle the simpleness of a four-way, drivers really lose it on these circular roadways.

    One of my all-time pet-peeves are drivers who don’t know how to use their turn signals. Thanks for an idea for my blog and congratulations on making the “Freshly Pressed.” I enjoyed your post.

    Like

    • Rick, people in our area eventually couldn’t handle the circles because we just drive too fast (whether allowed to or not). Most of them are phased out now – they were a staple in some parts back in the day. As we entered the “Internet Era” poor folks couldn’t get over in time to get off them and drove…in circles…for what seemed like hours on end. Turn signals…what are these of which you speak? 🙂

      Like

  19. Jbot says:

    In Michigan, we have something that’s called a Michigan Left. I remain convinced that the only reason we have these things is to simply confuse people from out-of-state. Life is much more lively with confusing traffic tricks.

    Like

  20. eggshellwhite says:

    You really must have read my mind. This happens in my town all the time. I have the same reaction as you do. People have no clue on how to determine the right of way.

    Like

  21. I’ve never had that much consistent trouble with a 4-way stop, although I do agree they can be tricky. What I’m really not looking forward to are the roundabouts being created in my city. Talking on the phone and driving at the same time something no one should ever do.

    Like

    • MCMF, yes, I would fear for the roundabout creation you are referring to if speeds are not kept to a bare minimum. We had circles back in the day here but people would not slow down and allow others to depart. You could find yourself driving around the circle…in circles. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  22. Kavya says:

    Four way stop signs are always a pain. Then there is the mandatory stop at a free right turn.. two things that make driving without associated hand gestures impossible

    Like

  23. This made me laugh because what you say in the beginning about these stupid intersections is all too true. I went to college in a town with a few signal lights and many four way stop intersections. Every trip to the grocery was a mess.

    Like

  24. beyondanomie says:

    When visiting the States, these intersections are the bane of my rental car experience. 🙂

    Roundabouts are so much easier, though I suppose that’s only because they’re more familiar to me. Actually, I seem to recall reading somewhere else that town planners in the USA are increasingly turning (pun only half-intended) to roundabouts rather than 4-ways. I think it might take a while for drivers to adapt to them, however.

    Like

  25. the sense of entitlement some people feel at 4-way stops is so lame.

    Like

  26. Daniel says:

    Funny. and well observed Well in the UK we don’t have these at cross roads – someone has a give-way or stop sign, while the road at right angles does not. Problem solved! But I think our mini-roundabout is a bit similar. We then defer to whoever is on our right side if they were there first, but we don’t always agree on who this is!

    Like

  27. Eva McCane says:

    hilarious! and i appreciate the perspective. i hate that awkward moment when there are 4 cars, all sitting there, nobody really knowing who’s turn it is. i’m the a-hole that just takes initiative and goes before everybody else. if they don’t make a move, i will. thanks for sharing!
    icouldntmakethisshitup.wordpress.com

    Like

  28. Hey, there aren’t many intersections in Branson, MO., however the 4 way stops ones are a pain as well as the roundabouts. In our town, I believe that a policy in the city is: if son many accidents happen in a certain 4 way stop, then they will install Signals or make it a…roundabout. I like this post a lot. Thank you for helping for the greater good of mankind.

    Like

  29. I’ll take a 4-way stop on any day over the roundabout hell over here…lol…

    Like

  30. menu78 says:

    I am compelled to give my two cents worth as a professional transport planner (at the risk of being grilled). Did the junction not have any give-way signs? A cross-junction usually has two major arms and two minor arms, with give-way signs on the minor arms, even in residential areas. No one in their right mind designs cross-junctions without signals or give-way signs…unless it’s an American thing? (Haha!)

    Thank God the Brits gave us the modern roundabout which is proven in the transport planning industry to be a better option, land permitting, as traffic tends to be more self-regulating than signalised junctions or any other type of junction, up to a certain traffic threshold.

    Maybe I should move to America and take over the transport planning industry and steer it on its road to recovery…pardon the pun! 🙂

    Like

  31. Mariajose says:

    This sounds like Miami traffic! Here people make a left from the right-most lane and when you beep at them you’ll hear curse words you didn’t even know existed.

    Like

  32. They do have places in America without 4 way stops, it’s called NASCAR.

    Great post and congrats on being Freshly Stopped, I mean Freshly Pressed.

    Mr Bricks

    PS I am kind of a foodie so I have to ask, How was the chinese food?

    Like

  33. Olivia K says:

    My small town changed the four ways to traffic circles. Let me just say that if you’ve never seen a traffic circle, then you are a blessed man. I agree four ways are ridiculous, but if it is any consolation: it could be worse.

    Congrats on Freshly pressed. This was great for a giggle.

    Like

    • Olivia, thanks for stopping by! I can tell you the discussion regarding the merits of roundabouts/circles versus 4-way stops is fascinating. I have experience with both…and still live to tell the tales.

      Like

  34. Lily says:

    I”m sorry but I have to dissagree. Four way stops are a must in some places, we had to put one up in our town after several deaths. Stop signs may slow you down, but you eventually get to your destination.

    Like

  35. ceciliag says:

    That was great i mean really. I came from NZ to live in The States 4 years ago and I could not believe that there were intersections based on politeness. No, it is your turn, no, really you first, no I insist, after you, no thats fine I don’t mind, you go! I would love you to go to NZ. The country is covered from head to foot with ROUNDABOUTS and the general rule is (well the local rule is ) to approach the roundabout as fast as you can and GUN it through.. I am sure you would like this system better!!! Of course more people die but they were not going fast enough! c

    Like

  36. Chris4Gkids says:

    I’ll add my congrats on the Freshly Pressed. I’ve been at this for a while and doubt that I’ve even come close, but my blog is political commentary not so entertaining. Apparently the traffic engineers in my area (Tri-Cities of WA) anticipated your wisdom. They are intent on turning all major 4-Ways into Round-Abouts (like traffic circles but different they tell us…?). Talk about challenging the driving skills of some drivers! The PR that has preceded each one, “Yes we know there will be more fender benders, but there are fewer fatalities.”
    Glad no paint got traded.

    Like

  37. Kimby says:

    This was such a humorous post, I read it aloud to my hubby and we both laughed. Been there, done that. Thanks for pointing out an obvious glitch in our progress from Point A to Point B. Excellent writing.

    Like

  38. David M. Green says:

    What really scares me is watching a car blow through a stop sign only to stop at the edge of the road while I’m in the process of passing by.

    Like

  39. chunter says:

    I respectfully disagree. While I agree that people become morons and forget the basic preschool skill of taking turns at four-way stops and roundabouts, I think they are nothing to be afraid of and are one of life’s reminders to pay attention to what you’re doing. In your instance, they are a glaring reminder to hang up the phone and drive. (Sadly, I doubt the other driver got the message.)

    Best wishes and congratulations on FP.

    Like

  40. Great post! And i like your title.

    Like

  41. rumpydog says:

    I agree with you there. I also have another problem- people who treat intersections that AREN’T 4-ways as if they were and pull out in front of me when I have the right-of-way. Maybe when we have hovercraft this won’t be a problem.

    Like

  42. ronda772 says:

    Thanks for the laugh, I haven’t done crunchies in a while, but I feel the burn!

    I have experienced this a few times. Not only with four way stops, but even the two way stops picking up my son from school. We have to join a car line (somewhat like valet service for kids, except parents drive). Some people don’t understand, you’re supposed to take turns entering the line. Why speed up and block the person who was supposed to be next? It’s not like you’ll magically end up in front of the school, you’re only one car ahead of me. I want to vent my frustration right then and there, but I have my business magnets on my car and that would be bad publicity, lol.

    Like

  43. Rachel says:

    One of my goals in life is to say exactly what I think to these heinous traffic ignoramuses (regardless of whether or not it will actually be heard). Congrats on FP and your ability to vanquish the uninitiated!!!

    Like

    • Rachel, as it was suggested by another reader…perhaps I will take up the cause more formally with those who can effect true change…at least in the configuration of the roadways if not the people! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  44. MTW says:

    The U.S. is the only place on Earth that I have found a 4-way stop sign intersection. It is bizarre indeed and shows the American people up as road policy fools!

    Like

  45. rogerthepoet says:

    I agree it is a good post, well written, i am from New Zealand and live near Wellington. A while ago I was in a suburb near the airport and had the misfortune to find myself at an uncontrolled 5 way intersection with cars at each road. It worked out well as we all looked at each other, shrugged our shoulders and smiled. No honking or fists luckely.

    Like

  46. Oh my gosh. Thank you for writing about this! LA is the land of awkward four way stops. It’s just confusing for all parties. Plus it makes it confusing and dangerous at two way stops, when people think it’s a four way stop and then realize the other two lanes have the right of way.

    Like

  47. But the alternative is roundabouts – and I hear they aren’t very popular in the US either…

    Like

  48. Chef Ivan says:

    If you think that’s bad, you should try the Italian four-way stop intersections. Herds of lamb included

    Like

  49. John Zephjo says:

    The same thing happens in my city all the time. I have the very same reaction as you do. People have no idea on how to determine the right of way. Great Post.

    Like

  50. wordspen says:

    A well written story with good detail. I would recommend putting your writting in a letter and mail it the the city authorities, like the mayor or city council. You have a very good point and any reasonable person would agree.

    Like

  51. aimooaimoo1 says:

    I agree with what you said. Because it is Highway.

    Like

  52. So funny – I lterally choked on my coffee!! Thanks for the laugh

    Like

  53. aerah08 says:

    very well said.. 🙂
    congratulations for making it on the cover

    Like

  54. mcfadden7788 says:

    Think 4-way stops are bad? In our municipality, planners believe every problem can be solved with a roundabout.
    I would agree with them, except people seem to have a lesser grasp of roundabout rules than they do of 4-way stops.

    Like

  55. Eeshan says:

    Great Post!
    Driving sense usually takes a back seat when the person in the front seat is in a hurry. But installing lights at 4 way intersections should be mandatory.

    Btw, you should ask that Chinese restaurant for home delivery! 😉

    Like

    • Eeshan, thank you for stopping by! You know, we always drive there. I don’t know if they deliver or not. If they do, they’d have to come through the same intersection. Could I do that to them…?!

      Like

  56. leadinglight says:

    Roundabouts here in Australia are worse. You can wait for ages to get some space to turn!

    Like

  57. I don’t have time to read all the comments, so I don’t know if this point has already been made. If it has, I apologize for the duplication. I noticed you mentioned that you’d already come to a stop at your stop sign and you were waiting for the other person to stop at theirs. Disregarding the fact that the other person didn’t wait long enough for you to go (which I agree was rude), I thought I would interject something…

    When I’m approaching a 4-way stop and I see another car that’s clearly going to have the right of way it irritates me when they wait at the stop sign for me to come to a complete stop instead of making their stop and then passing through. If you’ve made your stop and you see that I’m slowing down to make mine – eliminating the fear that I’m going to run the stop sign and hit you – just go. You’ve done your duty to make your stop. By waiting for me to come to a complete stop you make me wait longer at my stop – because you could’ve been halfway through the intersection (or more) by the time I came to a stop.

    I recently made a post on my personal FaceBook page (unrelated to my WordPress blog) about two other road issues that are pet peeves, and I’ve concluded that the difference on the road comes down to people who value etiquette over efficiency versus the opposite – people who value efficiency over etiquette. Admittedly, I fall into the latter category. Recognizing this makes it easier for me to deal with things on the road but what I really wish would be for a world where we could all agree on what’s efficient as the ‘new’ etiquette … at which point we’d all be both efficient AND polite. (*sigh*)

    Like

  58. Nicole says:

    I hate that! This happens to me driving to work and from work – the four way intersections with the stop signs during rush hour. People are nuts.
    Good post.

    Like

  59. Thanks for this post.. it continues to blow my mind how people get so air headed at four way stops…

    lol.. and I can relate to your “It was MY turn.” I guess people skipped the four-way stop part of the driver manual.

    Darlene

    Like

  60. The Socialist Kitchen Boy says:

    What about roundabouts?

    Like

  61. Downtown West Jefferson, NC just REMOVED the traffic lights and installed 4-way stop signs! Really? And you are correct, no one know what to do. Some people sit there until everyone is gone and other slow down and keep going and look at you like you are stupid. The local newspaper had instructions on what to do when you come to a 4-way stop but you know, that doesn’t apply to some people (so they think). I think it was a BIG mistake to remove the lights and put up stop signs! What were they thinking? Oh yeah and the town has street parking and now you can’t back out of the parking spaces because traffic is always on the street with no break. Thanks for the blog, I am glad I am not alone.

    Like

    • Wood N Mirror, the fact they actually had instructions on what to do in the paper is actually a plus. We never had that up here. Sounds like with the parking issue they made a mistake indeed…people can’t get out. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  62. jcrocker2613 says:

    that deff made me laugh. nice

    Like

  63. The Sue says:

    Coming from a country where every 2/3/4 way/round about practically has traffic lights, let me just say that it’s not the roads but them people.

    There’s this four way intersection near my house and I swear, if you are up at the front, you’ve gotta wait a couple of seconds after the light turns green before you can safely make a move without adding a new hood ornament. People seem to think, “Oh, the light’s JUST turned red, CHARGE AHEAD!!”

    Like

  64. Greetings all the way from South Africa.

    Thanks for a great post and for creating in me a Dickens of a state of embarrassment. The reason for my being all-of-a-twist in the matter of these multidirectional motoring misdemeanors is that I thought we South Africans had exclusive rights to idiocy at the four-way intersections.

    For a time, I too would attempt to minister unto them with gestures or words of encouragement. In a state of puce apoplectic impotence I would bellow from behind my window (much safer that way), that people in first world countries *know* how to negotiate intersections. It turns out you folk in the first world are similarly afflicted by this ineptitude – a malady that ought to be brought to the attention of the WHO (that’s World Health Organisation – not the band with a dead drummer).

    They say that a problem shared is better than no bread. So thank you for letting me vent my frustration on your page. Please feel free to pop by on my blog (http://ffchips.wordpress.com/about/) and do likewise.

    Kind regards
    FFC

    Like

  65. Dan Jacobs says:

    I’m not sure what’s more stupid……multitudes of 4 way stop signs, or the issues we have in Toronto, primarily a complete inability to time traffic lights together (you can be first in line at a red, and get caught at the next red, over and over and over), or the lack of ‘smart lights’. I still fail to see how a light turning green so that zero waiting cars can move ahead helps alleviate congestion.

    Like

  66. gaycarboys says:

    I have a theory that all roads were designed by blithering idiots, or school children.

    Like

  67. DC Spill Man says:

    While I agree and despise people who simply decide that it is their right in life to go first at a 4-way stop, regardless of who got there first, I also cannot stand those who hesitate because they don’t know what to do. If I get to a 4-way stop, and I saw you get there first, I will wait. But if you sit there and can’t decide if I am letting you go or just pausing, that was all I am willing to give. If you can’t make up your mind, do not expect me to sit there and wait for you.

    Like

  68. J. Boudreaux says:

    When I was in grammar school we were taught to wait our turn. But, I guess they dropped that course from today’s curricula . . . it probably cost too much and had to go.

    Great post! J. http://contemporarymusings.wordpress.com

    Like

  69. Too funny!! You’ve said what we’ve all been thinking for years!

    Like

  70. I would kill for a 4-way stop now. I’m living in a country full of roundabouts – and they are particularly terrifying in a taxi going 60 with the driver on his cell phone!

    Like

  71. Great post & here’s the deal. First come first serve and if you stop at the same time, driver to the right should be given right of way. Courtesy at a four way, or on the road in general, is a good thing. We’ve all got to share the road so let’s make our drive safe & stress free.

    Like

  72. Pete Howorth says:

    Lucky for us we have things call Roundabouts, doesn’t really make things much easier but it’s something American’s should invest in regardless haha.

    Like

  73. ejg says:

    You were wrong. How do I know? I was in the other car!
    🙂

    Like

  74. ournote2self says:

    I agree with you 100%. Why the heck don’t people know how to work a 4-way stop? Didn’t they go to the same driving school we did? Idiots!

    Like

  75. I can deal with simple 4-way stops. The ones that drive me insane are the 4-way stops with TWO lanes of traffic arriving at each corner. One for going straight and one for turning. If you really want some entertainment, grab a bottle of wine, pack a picnic basket, and take your lawn chairs and sit it one of these and watch. Hours and hours of entertainment, I assure you! Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed!

    Like

  76. Pingback: Four-Way No Way For Highway (via lifeattitudes) | pargasjunkyard

  77. carolisle says:

    I can’t leave home without a 4 way stop, one on either end of my block. You have my sympathy. You would not do well in Mexico City. Even walking was dangerous! But the native seemed to manage. I saw Moms with babies safely cross an 8 lane roundabouts. On second thought I really appreciated my wide quiet street in the good old USA. after I returned. Maybe a trip to visit our neighbors to the south is the best cure for road rage. And they have good food, too.

    Like

  78. So glad I found your post today via “freshly pressed” on wordpress! Love it!!!! In fact I loved it so much I reblogged it on my blog (of course giving you the credit) and suggested that my readers add you as a blog to follow! Have added you to the blogs I follow just because I love your humor! Would love to have you check out our blog also at http://www.pargasjunkyard.wordpress.com

    Like

  79. Unfortunately, there will still be those who are unclear as to who has the right of way at the traffic light. They will cut you off as they make an entitled left-hand turn. And then you’ll be even more angry because THERE IS A LIGHT! HOW CAN THEY THINK THEY HAVE THE RIGHT OF WAY?! And then you may find you are no longer content with some choice words and a honk or two. You may consider following them so that you can slash their tires. And then you may go to jail.

    You are better off with no lights. And I’m not telling you how I know all this, so don’t ask.

    Congrats on making Freshly Pressed!

    Like

  80. Louise says:

    Hi! I totally agree about the 4 way. It is so confusing! I am not the best driver so it is a bit harder for me!

    Cheers,
    Louise

    Like

  81. pd1248 says:

    I fear if the two of us ever met on the road it would be a stand-off. I usually refrain from gestures or foul language due to my wife pointing out the prospect that my adversary might be “packing heat” (not her words exactly). But I will use my car to get my way. A few dents here and there but nothing major. My pet peeve, though, is the traffic circle. No one quite knows how to manuever these. My wife has trained me with simple repitition of the phrase “who do you think designed this?” If it’s a design gone bad- a traffic circle, a home with no storage space, etc., undoubtedly it was a man.

    Like

    • PD, my gestures and obscene remarks were very much out of character for me for the very reasons you outline. I am a big fan of keeping the car completely intact, however. You may proceed… Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  82. intangiblesoul says:

    Totally hilarious! I thought I was the only one who had this gripe. Thing is, I’ve learned that most people really do know what to do in such circumstances. Its just that many of these people are just rude. You cant change a rude person. Best to just let the jerks go by, and decrease a little bit of entropy on your end. Someone has got to be rational. I like to be that someone.

    Like

  83. Harold says:

    She can drive and talk but can’t give full attention to both, a lose situation.
    I am usually courteous but can have my moments like you had. Especially if the idiot was a real idiot. I rate my driving as defensive with an offensive twist. Look out for the other guy but get where you are going.
    Congrats on being FP!

    Like

  84. rakhikankane says:

    enjoyed reading 🙂 nice blog!

    Like

  85. realanonymousgirl2011 says:

    Love it! I’m totally for driving etiquette. Most people have no idea and it really pisses me off when they’re on their frickin’ phone. Get an ear piece! It’s amazing that these people have drivers’ licenses. Sometimes I secretly wish they’d get a flat tire for failure to signal or such incidences as yours!

    Like

  86. Real, I couldn’t agree with you more…retribution without injuring others might make a difference. Thanks for stopping by!

    Like

  87. I like stop signs! I would much rather let someone else go out of turn at a stop sign rather than wait for a stop light to cycle through when there isn’t traffic! Sometimes I smile at an intersection and think I bet that person who hasn’t gone yet always asks “whose turn it again?” when they play board /card games!!

    Like

  88. House, thanks for stopping by! I understand your thought about lights being at red with no traffic. Fortunately, we have most of them cycled around here to be sensitive to high and low volumes!

    Like

  89. Pingback: Winter Road Tips For Those Assigned To Clear Them | lifeattitudes

Your Thoughts?

