This Guy Wants His Old Food Network Back

I think it was Summer of 2007.  TV Guide had printed a sampling of reader comments in response to the fact one of their writers dared take issue with the outfits Food Network star Giada DeLaurentis was wearing.  The question was, “Is The Sexy Chef Too Hot For TV?”

Never in a million years when I started watching the Food Network in the mid-90’s did I think we would ever come to that point.  I guess I was naive sex appeal wouldn’t plate and serve itself eventually into the kitchens of the chefs whose culinary talents were supposedly broadcast for us to admire…and copy…as best we could.

Those of you who remember the (TV) Food Network in its genesis remember people like David Rosengarten, John Ash, Curtis Aikens, the Two Hot Tamales and yes, Emeril
Lagasse.  The shows were all in studio with no audiences to speak of, focused on not just relaying great recipes but also teaching us about the various components of the dishes as well.  We learned how to cook. We learned about what we were cooking.  Life was simple.

Now, Food Network is all about flash.  It started with Emeril.  He morphed from a simple down-home Chef into an entertainer – a performer – before live audiences.  At that point, it became less about the food…and all about the Chef.

The controversy with Giada’s look back in 2007 pales in comparison to the present.  The channel ingredients now are part shock value, circus and competition.  I couldn’t think of anything more enjoyable to watch than someone slaving over a giant, one-of-a-kind cake and then watching the whole thing collapse because they have to lug it ten feet.

If you are an old-time Foodie like myself and long for the days when less was more…and you have equal parts appreciation for unfiltered humor and outrageous parody… check out foodnetworkhumor.com.  Very tasty only if the Food Network of today is not your idea of…good eats.

About sportsattitudes

I'm Bruce. Born, raised and still outside the City of Brotherly Love. Managed (so far) to visit a dozen of our United States and Canada (twice). Addicted from birth to Television/Movies/Sports. Took three years of French and got credit for two of 'em.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to This Guy Wants His Old Food Network Back

  1. Tipsy Lucy says:

    LOL about the cake. I get sucked into that show too! I’ll check out foodnetworkhumor. I hope they have some parodies re: Chopped, Iron Chef America (remember when it wasn’t in America?), and Cupcake Wars.

    Like

  2. TL, I was watching Chopped the other day and someone cut themselves. They had to ask the guy if he was ok…and if any part of his finger was in the food. Poor fellow was bleeding like all get out…but they sampled his finished product anyway! Chopped indeed!

    Like

  3. Pammy Girl says:

    I stood in line for over 2 hours to get Alton Brown, the host of ‘Good Eats’ to autograph a book for my soon-to-be ex-boyfriend (the ex loved Alton’s show). He signed it, “To X: She’s too good for you. Alton Brown”

    Alton Brown is not sexy and will never be confused with sexy… but I love him.

    Like

  4. Alton was without a doubt my FAVE on the “New And Unimproved” Food Network until three things happened…1) he got on a motorcycle and did a tour/series around the country, almost killing himself…2) he signed on as host of Iron Chef America, which is an abomination compared to the original Godzilla Japanese-language versions and…3) he did a Good Eats show on WATER. At that point, I felt that series had run DRY. All that said, since you love him I will continue to as well.

    Like

  5. Pammy Girl says:

    I only love Alton for what he wrote in that book. His show is a huge snore. I prefer to watch my food shows on the Travel Channel, actually. Love me some Anthony Bordain (No Reservations) and Andrew Zimmern (Bizarre Foods). I actually DVR their shows because I get such a kick out of them. And by the way, neither one of them is remotely sexy.

    Like

  6. Lowdogg says:

    I agree that Travel channel has become much more interesting. That is a great story about the book signing.

    Like

  7. Just for the record I don’t find Alton Brown, Anthony Bourdain or Andrew Zimmern sexy either…

    Like

Your Thoughts?

