Do What You Love – Think About It

King George V wrote on the Bible of a friend: “The secret of happiness is not to do what you like to do, but to learn to like what you have to do.”

Hugh MacLeod, author of the new book “Evil Plans: Having Fun On The Road To World Domination” offers: “Are you one of the people who can unify work and love?  If not, don’t you think you should be?  I mean, after friends and family, what the hell is there?”

I have taken a fancy to Hugh’s philosophy and have set out on my own journey of earning a living doing what I love.  I fully accept his way of thinking is not something everyone can execute immediately.  What I do not accept is we will not all take time to consider the possibility.  The potential.

I believe it is important for everyone to give serious thought – more than ever – as to what they might work at which would also make them happy.  Really, really happy.

When you have a big purchase to make one course of action is to make a list of “pros” and “cons” on each potential direction or possible outcome before taking action.  Why not do that with work versus “happy” work?

I think more than ever we need to stop for a few moments…look around…and invest in assessing our work lives and how they are impacting not only ourselves but those closest to us.  It costs nothing to ponder…but the return on investment for all involved could be priceless.

We don’t do a lot of things out of fear.  The obvious ones include not walking down a dark alley in a dangerous part of town at night.  The less obvious ones include not reaching for our dreams and thinking we have to learn to like what we work at because no action is easiest…because comfort zones have been fortified…even though we may not be comfortable – or happy – at all.

As my own pursuit of work and happiness continues this will be a topic revisited.  For now I ask everyone to consider the potential of mastering any fears you might have of trying to do something you actually love.

I saw something in passing indicating happiness was a dividend on a well-invested life.  Seems to me we should seriously consider investing in ourselves…and how doing what we love might bring true happiness to not only ourselves…but our loved ones.

Do what you love.

Think about it.

About sportsattitudes

I'm Bruce. Born, raised and still outside the City of Brotherly Love. Managed (so far) to visit a dozen of our United States and Canada (twice). Addicted from birth to Television/Movies/Sports. Took three years of French and got credit for two of 'em.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Do What You Love – Think About It

  1. Troy says:

    As the adage goes, “Do what you love and you will never work a day in your life.”

    Like

  2. Pammy Girl says:

    I think many people are motivated by fear. I know I have been, but I also ascribed to this: “A life lived in fear… is a life half-lived.”

    Fear might get me moving but it doesn’t keep me going. And when you’re afraid you can’t be happy.

    Like

  3. Pam, I want to be happy so perhaps I will put off watching “Drag Me To Hell” a while longer…:)

    Like

Your Thoughts?

