Holster That Tractor…And Know When To Stop

Came across potentially life-saving info yesterday via my local paper (complementary video on their website) regarding a new item called the Tractor Holster.  It may turn out to be a tribute to American inventors and entrepreneurs everywhere…and at the very least save some digits, hands and other body parts.  (Neighbors will thank you for sparing them that kind of drama)

And boy, do I know about the dangers of riding mowers.

Back to the invention, which allows one to pick up debris while remaining in riding mode.  As those with riding mowers know, if you get off the mower it shuts off.  This can be an inconvenience, especially with something in the way you would rather not have your blades – or body –  take on.

I sold my riding mower some years back when I moved to a residence that has a small enough footprint…not to mention slopes and rises within…where a push mower handles the task quite nicely.

This was somewhat of a relief to me as I never quite mastered the art of my zero-turning radius riding mower.  I can recall the excitement when I first bought it.  It was an engine with joysticks.  I could not wait to try it out.

That first summer of my proud ownership…we had a drought and I believe I used it three times.  Return on investment?  Not Year One.

Year Two was a different story and my golf cart with blades was called into service many times.  In fact, it was often difficult to take on the yard between storms and one particular day I was trying to mow a lawn that could have used a little more “air time” to dry out more thoroughly.

Wearing one of my many baseball caps to keep potential drizzle from affecting my performance, I was spinning about trying to get the lawn done as quickly as possible while my wife was doing some grounds maintenance nearby.

As I approached the lawn at the edge of the end of our driveway, which was adorned with a large area of bush the species of which I knew only as “stay away because it has thorns,” it dawned on me my desire to stop the mower was being overridden by what can only be described as hydroplaning, albeit on grass.

I drove straight into the bush and felt the afore-mentioned thorns piercing my forehead as the cap had departed upon impact.

I did accomplish the initial goal of getting the riding mower stopped.  My wife, who could see the mower at rest and I still upright even after she heard it no longer roaring about, came over to me…sized up the situation as I started to bleed from the numerous holes in my head and face…and the first thing she said was…”weren’t you wearing a hat?”

About sportsattitudes

I'm Bruce. Born, raised and still outside the City of Brotherly Love. Managed (so far) to visit a dozen of our United States and Canada (twice). Addicted from birth to Television/Movies/Sports. Took three years of French and got credit for two of 'em.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Your Thoughts?

